a preschool FOR CHICAGO'S NEXT GENERATION

Menu

EVENTS & ACTIVITES

Urban Child Academy recognizes that families are the primary educators of our children. Therefore, one of our main missions is to include our families in our daily activities at every opportunity. We also work hard to share our curriculum goals with you and your family so that you can help us achieve our educational goals from year to year. The school blog is maintained in order to share as many of our exciting daily events as possible in real time. In addition, our private student web pages are designed to give families up-to-date information on their child.

Our teachers hold collaborative curriculum meetings. In those meetings, they review and share their extensive classroom observations in order to plan lessons tailored to their individual students, all centered around a school-wide investigation. These investigations are born out of our collective observations of our students' daily curiosities. We keep in mind your child's oral language skills and literacy development while creating lesson plans. For example, students and teachers might label the earth boxes in our teaching garden with the words soil, flower, and worms! Children in our Pre-K classroom have daily opportunities to record their thoughts as letter strings, pictures and words in a journal. All of this information is maintained as a teaching record in the classroom portfolios as well as student portfolios which serve not only as excellent educational records but also as cherished childhood mementos of our students' formative years.

Download the 2017-2018 Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar
2018
Spring Break Monday, March 26
UCA is closed Monday, March 26- Friday, March 30
Teacher In-Service Day Friday, April 13
UCA closes at 12:30pm (half day)
Parent/Teacher Conferences Friday, May 04
UCA closes at 12:30pm (half day)
Memorial Day Holiday Friday, May 25
UCA is closed Friday, May 25- Monday, May 28
Summer Term Begins Tuesday, May 29
Teacher In-Service Day Friday, June 08
UCA closes at 12:30pm (half day)
Independence Day Holiday Wednesday, July 04
UCA is closed Wednesday, July 4- Friday, July 6
Teacher In-Service Day Friday, August 31
UCA is closed
Labor Day Holiday Monday, September 03
UCA is closed
Fall Term Begins Tuesday, September 04

 

OrganicLife is the leading foodservice provider of healthy school lunches in Illinois. Their 4-star chefs believe school lunch should be something to look forward to each day. Download this month's menu